Maintaining sanity when moving back home

Posted: April 2, 2013 in crafts, fitness, food, it's getting better, living at home, new skills, young people
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, since my last post was soooo…well, damning-all, “oh, woe. The world is full of CRAP” (Which, honestly, isn’t entirely inaccurate), I wanted to go in a different direction today. I’ve been thinking about it, and although I truly think things are less than ideal, it’s really ok in terms of the larger picture.

Cadbury-Mini-Eggs-e1333691660747

For example, I am eating these.

The best way I can figure out how to maintain my sanity after graduation is to commit to several things be they projects, skills, goals, whatever. The point is to keep myself feeling like I am a competent human being who does not sit around all day on Pinterest pinning ideas she’ll never use. So the is my list:

1. Fitness

Yeah, that about sums it up.

2. Crafty Things

Remember the days in elementary school when you’d be in art class painstakingly molding this perfect bowl/ashtray/whotheeffcares out of clay eagerly picturing in your mind’s eye the sheer awesomeness that was going to emerge from the kiln (which took forever, by the way) that you’d then take home to proudly present to your mother being all like, “Bam! I made this. You’re welcome.” Yeah, I want to do that again. But, you know, better. And without ashtrays shaped like the stuff my cat hacked up this morning.

I’ve dabbled in jewelry and candle making, but never really got anywhere with it other than cheap Christmas gifts for my roommates. There was like, one candle that I actually held up and thought, “I’m proud of this,” but I want to keep trying until I find more.

3. Food

Chef!

Chef! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Specifically, healthier food that I am able to confidently cook myself. See, there’s mostly a theme of confidence and competency going on here. Self-reliance! HaHa!

4. Re-vamping My Room

http://alicegrimoire.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/tumblr_lk7y5fdomh1qbgggqo1_500.jpg

You see, I share a room with my sister and have since I was seven. I have hated it the entire time. Now, thinking of going back to living in it full-time even if she’s going away to college in the fall makes my anxiety and irritability levels just skyrocket. Introverts do not enjoy sharing a room. Currently, I occupy a 6×4 foot space, bed included. This is not an exaggeration. It must change.

5. Writing in this blog at least four times a week

Comments
  1. This is a great list. I, too, have to become a little more self-reliant when it comes to cooking – much less healthy cooking. Ramen with an egg ain’t really the greatest dinner if I want to be 60 and strong 😛

  2. […] ← Maintaining sanity when moving back home […]

Leave a comment